Introducing the HEA Book Club, for fans of Fantasy Romance!

So, The Borrowed Bookshelf and I got together and we’re running a brand new book club over on reddit’s r/fantasy community called HEA, or Happily Ever After. This is a club meant to highlight all things fantasy romance–these are books that combine elements and tropes of both the Fantasy and Romance genres. Some books may lean slightly more one direction than the other, but the important thing is that a blending of the genres is present in the work.ย  It’s no secret that I love this subgenre, so I’m really excited about this new venture, and am hoping to find lots of new books to read through it. ๐Ÿ™‚

You can check out the full post here, but if you don’t feel like clicking over to reddit right now, here are the deets.

For now we’re going to pick the first selection and going forward we’ll pick a selection of books for a poll. Once we see how things go we may open it up to nominations in the future. Book suggestions, however, are always welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

We’ll start out running this similar to the other book clubs on the r/fantasy subreddit with a Midway Discussion thread and a Final Discussion thread throughout the month and see how that works. If we find we’re reading too quickly or something we may change things up depending on how everyone feels. I know romance folks tend to devour books fast, so we’ll have to see how the pacing goes and we’ll adjust if needed.

There are no sign ups for this club, anyone can join in the discussions at any time, but all discussions will take place on reddit’s r/fantasy forum. I hope some of you decide to join in!

We’ll begin our first book of the month in May, with Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh. Midway Discussion thread will go up a week or so into the month.

ab-coverVampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows sheโ€™s the bestโ€”but she doesnโ€™t know if sheโ€™s good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful Archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, only one thing is clearโ€”failure is not an optionโ€ฆeven if the task is impossible.

Because this time, itโ€™s not a wayward vamp she has to track. Itโ€™s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no otherโ€ฆand pull her to the razorโ€™s edge of passion. Even if the hunt doesnโ€™t destroy her, succumbing to Raphaelโ€™s seductive touch just may. For when archangels play, mortals breakโ€ฆ

10 thoughts on “Introducing the HEA Book Club, for fans of Fantasy Romance!

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I shall keep my eye on this – I’m with Mogsy, I don’t read a lot of romance but every now and again it just works for me – like Polaris Rising.
    Lynn ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. lizrwriter1021 says:

    Have you read Ghosted: The Treason House Trilogy Book 1. by Baye Hartshorne? IT’s a fast paced romance between Julia , a 21st Century writer and Victorian ghost Knight.It’s pretty good and funny too.

Leave a comment, I'd love to chat!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s